Uncategorized

Photography portfolio: Malahide beach

One of the main reasons why I chose to photograph Malahide beach, was the sentimental connection I have to the area.My theme is nostalgia, because when I was younger, everytime we visited my nana, we would go for a walk at Malahide beach , collect a bag of shells and admire the views.  I found some inspiration from looking through some old family photographs from the 1960’s taken on the same beach, and thought it would be a great location. I wanted to capture the beauty and charm of the area.  Even in the cold, wintery weather it is still a scenic place to visit. The beach is filled with interesting patterns, textures and marine like subjects to photograph. I wanted my portfolio to express the peaceful atmosphere of the area and show the things I love most about the beach. I took most of my photographs at around 7:30am to take advantage of how the sunrise casts interesting shadows and gives nice lighting.

Olivia Ricci B00053409 Creative digital media, year 1.

Theme: Seaside nostalgia

http://www.flickr.com/photos/bellinos/

Test shots:

No.1 Morning Bokeh

Shutter speed:1/250

Aperture: f/5.6

Focal length: 48mm

ISO: 100

For this shot, I decided to do a point of view angle of the subject taking a photograph of the sun rising. I used a small f stop of f/5.6 to create a shallow depth of field, which also resulted in some bokeh. I chose to add this shot into my final ten because I like how it reflects the sun with warm tones and bokeh. The light at that time of the morning was nice and soft. The shallow depth of field emphasizes the subject but you can still tell what he is taking a picture of and that he is at the beach. The sun is something everyone seems to worship, especially photographers.

Test shots:

No.2 Reflections

Shutter speed: 1/125

Aperture: f/3.5

Focal length: 18mm

ISO: 100

For this shot, I chose to capture the repetition and pattern of the wooden jetty. I wanted to create a dramatic black and white landscape using a wide focal length of 18mm. I decided to use b&w instead of colour to enchance the contrast between the jetty and the water and create an Ansel Adams inspired landscape shot. I like how the light cast relflections of the wooden jetty against the water. The tide was out when and the water was still. I think this shot shows the peaceful atmosphere of the beach.

No.3  She sells seashells

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/40

Aperture: f/5.6

Focal length: 55mm

ISO: 100

Here I chose to take a close up shot of a shell,  this particular type of shell, seemed to be a novelty when I was younger, because there was two attached to each other. I wanted the shell to be the main subject, so I used a shallow depth of field. I chose to add this to my final ten because I like the tones and colours of the shot and how it is focused on the detail of the shell. The peachy colour of the shell complements the turquoise sea in the background.

No.4 The decisive moment

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/40

Aperture: f/16.0

Focal length: 55mm

ISO: 100

As I walked along the beach, I noticed this dog running towards his owner. I liked how he was isolated from everything else and decided to try and capture some motion. I chose ‘the decisive moment’, as my title as it is my take on Henri Cartier Bresson’s famous photo ‘the decisive moment’. I used a wide local length, 55mm to capture as much as possible and a small aperture to make things sharper. I chose to use b&w because there was nice contrast between the water and sand, and I thought b&w would enchance this.

No.5 Old and tattered

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/20

Aperture: f/5.6

Focal length: 55mm

ISO: 100

I used large aperture to create a shallow depth of field for this shot. I wanted the focus to be on the seaweed and moss covered jetty. I wanted to photograph this, as I liked the different gritty textures of the stone, moss and the drab colours of the seaweed and background. It gives the shot a kind of sad mood. I chose the title, ‘Old and tattered’, because to me it shows the age of the beach, the seaweed and moss is embedded into the stone. Everything in this shot looks old and gritty, even the darker sand in the background.

No.6 Good morning

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/125

Aperture: f/5.3

Focal length: 40mm

ISO: 100

For, this shot, I wanted to capture the warm orange light of the  sun emerging from the clouds and rising over the beach. I chose to use this photo for my final ten as I like how the warmth of the sun contrasts with the darkness of the jetty. I took this from a low angle to get both the watery sand in the foreground as well as the main focus of the shot in the centre, and the sky in the background.  I like the stillness of the water, it adds a sense of peacefulness to the morning landscape.

No.7 Cold and blue

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/80

Aperture: f/3.5

Focal length: 18mm

ISO: 100

For this shot, I wanted to create a a wide angle landscape shot of the beach. I chose this because I like the angle of the shot, and the cold blue colours and tones make it feel wintery and dramatic. I wanted to enchance the stormy clouds and interesting patterns and details in the  sand. The beach is empty which gives a sense of loneliness and isolation.

No.8 Here comes the sun

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/8000

Aperture: f/3.5

Focal length: 18mm

ISO: 100

I look this shot, at a very low angle. I wanted to capture the pattern of the sand and the light from the sunrise reflecting on it. I wanted this to be included in my final ten as I love the details and patterns of the sand and the shadows cast on it. I chose 18mm focal length to get it as wide angle as possible.

No.9 The birds

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/25

Aperture: f/3.5

Focal length: 18mm

ISO: 100

I chose this shot as I like the eerie movement and motion of the birds. This was one of the first shots I got. I heard this loud noise coming from behind me and looked up as a huge flock of birds flew by. I quickly snapped  and got these creepy shots that remind me of Hitchcocks 1963’s horror ‘The Birds’. I like how most of the shot is taken up with the bird filled sky, and how the motion and movement of them was captured.

No.10 Footprints

Test shots:

Shutter speed: 1/80

Aperture: f/3.5

Focal length: 18mm

ISO: 100

I chose to include this as part of my final ten, because I like the angle of the shot and the subject. I took a low angled shot of the footprints in the sand to create a ground level perspective. I wanted to enhance the grittiness of the sand. I also like the cold and blue tones to the shot, and how your eye is drawn off to the sea.

Some shots that didn’t make it into the portfolio:

Although, I like this shot, it was a tough decision between some of the similar landscape shots. I think this shot is not as interesting as ‘No.7 Cold and blue’, as it is not as effective as an image, the tones and colours are not as dramatic or visually pleasing.

I had a lot of similar shots to this one. I was going to use this one for my portfolio. But the following morning I captured a similar shot, but at sunrise when the light was nicer. I chose, ‘No.2 Reflections’ instead, as the lighting is nicer and the image is nicer overall.

I decided not to include this shot in my portfolio because I didn’t think it was as effective as others. I like the idea of this, but wished I had taken it a different way, maybe taking it a different angle or have made the background out of focus.

I was going to use this shot of seaweed, but I wasn’t sure about it. I realised I didn’t like how there wasn’t anything more to it. If I had taken it with more of an angle, and with the rule of thirds in mind, it might have turned out better.

Leave a Reply

